Skip Navigation Show Sitemap anzeigen

A multi-generation house writes history ...

Our restaurant has now been in existence for almost 110 years, and we have always been delighted to welcome you to our premises in our fourth family generation

We can look back with pride on numerous extensions and reconstructions and most recently had a cosy à-la-carte restaurant with approx. 45 seats, a multifunctional room with 24 seats for banquets (with up to 18 seats) and for conferences (with up to 14 seats); also two outdoor terraces with up to 30 seats and a lounge area for relaxing afterwards.

With a heavy heart, we had to close the restaurant on 31 December 2022 for reasons of age. Mr Dirk Frick – general manager and chef of the restaurant – has retired well-deserved after 46 years and became a privateer. 

When Louis and Lina Balke set up their licensed pub on the property at "Dorfstraße 79/80" (now Alt-Godshorn 45/47) in Godshorn in 1911, they had already had a pub in Vahrenheide for several years. So they also knew how to lay the foundations for a long-term, stable family business. Even back then, their recipe for success was "quality food and excellent service" to ensure long-term customers.

Their second-born daughter, Dörchen, was working in the adjoining colonial shop when she met and married Willy Frick in 1932. On 1 January 1939, Louis Balke leased the pub to his son-in-law Willy Frick and his wife Dörchen, née Balke, at a rent of two Reichsmarks per hectolitre of beer served.

After the death of Louis Balke, the contract between Lina Balke and Willy Frick was renewed on 1 January 1950. At this time, Willy and Dörchen's son Willi Frick junior was already attending Langenhagen secondary school.

After successfully completing his training as a chef and gaining his first professional experience at the Hackerbräu in Hanover, he officially took over the Frick restaurant in 1960.

Willi Frick Jr. laid the foundations for the expansion of the business with structural extensions (bowling alley, clubroom, hall). The expansions and renovations were provisionally completed on 8 October 1981 with the opening of the traditional restaurant under the name "Fricks Restaurant". Following in his father's footsteps, the eldest son, Dirk Frick, after his training and first professional experience in the Stadthalle Hannover, is now general manager and chef de cuisine and determines the menu and the culinary development of the restaurant with his dishes of the new German cuisine.

So that we can be at your disposal "around the clock", we expanded our business in the summer of 2001 with our own hotel called "Fricks Hotel". We now offer our guests 35 lovingly furnished comfortable rooms with a living space of 20–38 square metres for a restful night's sleep. On 31 December 2022 we closed our restaurant for reasons of age.

To the top of the page